USMS Convention — Jacksonville, Florida. 2011

Committee Name: Colonies Zone Session #: 1 Report #: na

Committee Chair: Debbie Morrin-Nordlund Vice Chair: Lisa Bennett

Minutes recorded by: Debbie Morrin-Nordlund Date/time of meeting: 9/17/11; 10:30am

Action Items:

1. MSA to approve the April 2011 meeting minutes

2. MSA to accept bid for SCY to be hosted by GMU Patriot Masters

Number of committee members present: 39 Absent: na Number of other delegates present: na

Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice chair): see attendance list

Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 10:30am.

- 1. Committee members introduced themselves
- 2. M(Strahota)S(Novitske)A to approve the April 2011 meeting minutes
- 3. 2011 Zone Dot award presented to Linda Brown-Kuhn
- 4. Webmaster Ray Novitske asked for calendar and news items to be submitted for the zone web site. Two lists will be set up − 1 administrative and one for swimmers. The need to keep updated contact information on LMSC web sites and with the National Office was stressed.
- 5. LMSC minimum standards were brought up and the LMSC Development Committee wants to work with LMSCs and the Zone to help LMSCs.
- 6. Zone Championships were discussed. The championship subcommittee (McGiffin, Strahota, Bennett, Kupan, Danner) will solicit input regarding the policies and requirements and possible flexibility. The guide will be reviewed for clarity and policy. Subcommittee will look at possibility of development of certain areas/courses, changes of bid deadline. M(Prescott)S(Matthews)A GM Bid for acceptance of SCY 2012 meet. Bids will remain open at this time for SCM 2011 and 2012 LC and SCM.
- 7. Information was provided on upcoming coaches certification program hosted by Metro
- 8. Open Water Championships discussed. Plan to expand to more than one per year. Possibility of using multiple races within an event/festival (various distances, including maybe shorter than 1 mile).
- 9. Zone Chair Elections were held. Leo Letendre appointed election chair. New officers elected: Jeff Strahota, Chair; Debbie Morrin-Nordlund, Vice Chair
- 10. M(Roddin)S(Hall)A to adjourn meeting 11:58am

Tasks for the Upcoming Year

- 1. Review of meet and operating guidelines headed up by the championship subcommittee
- 2. Solicitation of championship bids
- 3. Solicitation of nominees for Colonies Dot Award

The meeting was adjourned at 11:58am